Home   Contact Us

Industry Pioneers
Technology Pioneers
Pinnacle Award
Hall of Fame
2007 Industry Pioneers
2007 Technology Pioneers







2009 Technology Pioneers

Health, Safety & Environment:

Minerals Management Service (MMS) Federal Regulations

The Minerals Management Service (MMS) of the U.S. Department of Interior was established in 1983, following its predecessor, the U.S. Geological Survey Conservation Division, established in 1954, and is responsible for issuing and implementing regulations for the design, construction and operation of all offshore structures on the United States Outer Continental Shelf (OCS).  In 1969 and 1970, the Conservation Division, under Richard Krahl’s direction, revised technical requirements and investigation capabilities via new recommended practices for oil spill response and personnel training programs for drilling rigs, fixed platforms, wells and production control.  In 1977, the agency started conducting its own research and development on safety and pollution prevention.  This effort led to the creation of the Technology Assessment and Research (TA&R) Program, which via funding has led to more than 600 technology and research projects of which over a third were joint industry projects.  These projects and programs have gained worldwide acceptance, with active industry participation, leading to further efforts on risk and reliability workshops enhancing worldwide offshore industry and the USA’s energy needs.   With ongoing cooperation with the industry, the MMS, via Elmer “Bud” Danenberger, longtime Chief of the Engineering and Operations Division, developed and managed the TA&R, directing the reopening of the National Oil Spill Research Test Facility (OHMSETT), and organized the International Regulators’ Forum. Through its existence the MMS and its predecessor have in cooperation with the petroleum industry established very high standards which have been copied by coastal governments and many foreign countries.

Recognizing the pioneering efforts of the following individuals and organizations that contributed to this technology:

Elmer “Bud” Danenberger, Thomas Dunaway, Felix Dyhrkopp, John Gregory, Richard Krahl,

Dr. Charles Smith, American Petroleum Institute (API), International Association of Drilling Contractors (IADC), Minerals Management Service (MMS) and the Offshore Operators Committee (OOC)


2011 Call for Nominations
2011 Industry Pioneer Nomination Form 
2011 Technology Pioneer Nomination Form

Media Plug-In Required

Some sections of this site use the Adobe Acrobat Reader plug-in. If you do not already have the Acrobat Reader installed, click on the "Get Acrobat Reader" Icon below to download and install.