Home   Contact Us

Industry Pioneers
Technology Pioneers
Pinnacle Award
Hall of Fame
2007 Industry Pioneers
2007 Technology Pioneers







Health, Safety & Environment

Code Development: ABS Rules for MODUs

The development of standards, guidelines, and Rules to ensure safe design, quality construction, and verify that offshore equipment was built to a recognized standard, helped the industry. These Rules also assured domestic and foreign regulatory authorities, charged with safety on their continental shelves, that the equipment being used to explore for oil and gas in their waters was safe. The American Bureau of Shipping (ABS) led an industry effort by forming a Special Committee to write Rules by which structural and mechanical fitness-for-purpose of Mobile Offshore Drilling Units (MODUs) could be assured. The ABS Rules for Building and Classing Mobile Drilling Units was first published in 1968. In large part, the later International Maritime Consultative Organization (IMCO) rules for MODUs were based on these. Many engineers and naval architects within the industry, the ABS, and U.S. Coast Guard (USCG) contributed to developing the Rules. The Committee was made up of drilling contractors, oil companies, designers, building yards, USCG, and ABS specialists. The names of the 1968 ABS MODU committee are given below.

Recognizing the pioneering efforts of the following people and companies who contributed to the development of this technology:

Frederik H. "Henry" Ackema, Norman D. "Scotty" Birrell, Richard L. Brown, Garvin W. Cooper, H.E. Denzler, Jr., John C. Estes, D.H. Falkingham, G.B. Grafton, John R. Graham, James W. Greely, Edwin Hartzman, M.D. Korkut, Dean A. Kypke, C.W. Levingston, Sam H. Lloyd, Charles O. Macdonald, Robert H. Macy, Foster T. Manning, Richard M. Marsh, William A. Martinovich, W.L. McDonald Jr., Walter H. Michel, A.R. Newman, M. O. Pattison, F. "Tim" Pease, Ralph E. Scales, George L. Temple, American Bureau of Shipping, Avondale, Bethlehem Steel, Chevron (ChevronTexaco), Conoco, Earl & Wright (Kvaerner R. J. Brown) Friede & Goldman Ltd., Global Marine (GlobalSantaFe), Humble Oil & Refining Co. (ExxonMobil), Kerr-McGee, Mobil, ODECO (Diamond Offshore), Pan American Petroleum (BP), Reading & Bates (Transocean Inc.), Santa Fe International (Global Santa Fe), SEDCO (Sedco Forex), Shell, The Offshore Co. (Transocean Inc.), U.S. Coast Guard, WODECO


2011 Call for Nominations
2011 Industry Pioneer Nomination Form 
2011 Technology Pioneer Nomination Form

Media Plug-In Required

Some sections of this site use the Adobe Acrobat Reader plug-in. If you do not already have the Acrobat Reader installed, click on the "Get Acrobat Reader" Icon below to download and install.